Beans & Greens

I’m often told that I’m the worst vegetarian ever. It might be true. Especially in the middle of winter, I have less than zero interest in a salad; I’ll go out of my way to discourage others from eating salads too.

But there are legitimate health reasons (vitamins, nutrients, calories) to eat vegetables. I guess. Imagine my surprise when a non-recipe that’s basically kale and pinto beans turned out to be my favorite thing to eat this week.

Let’s be clear: eating kale is not an interesting thing to do. Subverting expectations about a core part of your identity? Better.

Let’s Cook This

  • 1T olive oil
  • 1 bunch kale, washed, cored, and chopped
  • 2 cans pinto beans, drained
  • 1/2c Mexican blend cheese
  • Tomatillo (green) salsa to taste

Heat the oil on medium. Add the kale and beans, stirring occasionally until melted. Garnish with cheese and salsa.

Leave a Reply

